Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: New member

New member 1 year 11 months ago #27060

• Dripwater
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi, I'm new to the south St.Pete area, after fishing Tarpon Springs, Palm Harbor and the St Joe Sound for the last 25 years. I'm trying to learn the when,where of shore fishing, as I sold my boat when I moved here.
Looking to get a small bay boat soon, but I'm landlocked in the meantime.
A quick look thru this site impressed me, so I hope to use it to it's fullest.. I will also contribute when appropriate.
Thanks,
Jim
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: New member 1 year 11 months ago #27061

• DavidT
  • Thank you received: 297
Welcome Jim! There's a few spots I like to fish from land in the South St Pete area. One is Pass-a-Grille. There's a short fishing pier on the west corner of the pass. You have to pay to park there, but it's fairly cheap. I think it's like $1.50 for 2 hours or something like that. You have to pay by credit card then put the ticket in your window.

But anyway, it's a pretty good spot to fish. I was there 2 weeks ago and caught a few mackerel and a nice trout. I met a guy that was fishing for a few hours before I got there and he said he caught a few nice snook right off the rocks (right before the fishing pier). Also, there's great fishing all over the Skyway. Obviously the fishing piers are great, but you can pull off in the rest areas and fish from land.

One more spot I really like is Demons Landing. There's some pretty good fishing there too.

Good luck and let us know how you do!
If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles. -Doug Larson

Re: New member 1 year 11 months ago #27070

• edquin
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 45
Welcome Jim,
You will find plenty of info and advice here,good to have you!
Edgar

Re: New member 1 year 11 months ago #27079

• Lostmans1
  • Thank you received: 213