The Online Fisherman Forums :: Topic: Couldn't find one fish (1/1)
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Couldn't find one fish

Couldn't find one fish 2 years 2 months ago #26773

• Nick81
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3
I made it out to the flatts in the north side of Howard park and couldn't find one fish. I was the at 7 am and was even there for the high tide to come in. I was using live bait and gulp baits. I paddle my kayak all over the place and not one bite. Can anyone tell me what I was doing wrong? Please help, I am new to saltwater fishing, I grew up on freshwater.
Just trying to make as many stories as I can
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Couldn't find one fish 2 years 2 months ago #26775

• DavidT
  • Thank you received: 298
There could be a variety of reasons that you didn't catch anything...what were you using for tackle? Were you using a weight? Were you using flurocarbon leader? What size hook were you using? Were you casting your bait out far away from your kayak? What type of live bait were you using? Were you making noise on your kayak? Did you see any mullet activity? If so, were you fishing close to (or directly in) the mullet schools?

All those things could play a major factor in fishing, but the most important thing is: were you fishing where the fish were? Maybe not....or, they might just not have been eating...they could have just ate before you got there...
If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles. -Doug Larson

Re: Couldn't find one fish 2 years 2 months ago #26776

• john424
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 33
Nick81:
I too have been fishing the area you mentioned. Was out Sunday and the bite was very slow?? Mabey this moon we have right now?? Got one keeper Trout (17").