Sign in to follow this  
tna674

Amberjack cooking...

Our neighbors just got back from the Keys and brought us about 5-7 lbs fillets and said to smoke them ... Not that we don't have the time to smoke them but I would rather try something 'easier' for the first time of eating it since I have never tried them before...And Ideas??

It is good smoked and made into a dip! I have also had some AJ that was breaded' date=' fried, and served with a raspberry jalapeno dipping sauce which was amazing!![/quote']Ron, at what temp and how many hours do we need to smoke them?Thanks dude.

I would do apple! And it will take more time to get the smoker smokin good than it would to cook the fish... Depending on the smoker hot spots, I would say about 150 and maybe 15-20 mins... That's my smoker so yours may be more or less.. I smoke a lot of stuff and every smoker is a bit different but just check it often and you should be good to goBut even a pan sear would be nice! Or done like Ron said for sure!

Thanks guys!!!We just bought a grill with a small smoker attached and Tim has been wanting SOOOOO BADDD to smoke something, and now it just seems as if the Fishing G_ds are telling us it's time.

I was kidding about pine! That would be gross. You do not need to buy smoke chips just pick up some dead twigs/branches under any oak tree. And If you are smoking it for fish spread, I would let it go for at least an hour