jayfack27

Breaking In Banshee, But Want Some Poon!

So this has been my first break in 4 years, and will probably be my last little summer break for the next 8 years (dental school starts in july, then i go active duty army once I'm done with dental school).  Im trying to get as much fishing in as possible haha.  

1st trip in the banshee got 2 overslot reds, a slot red, a handful of rat reds, and some slot trout.  LOVE this boat.  Then took the offshore boat out so some trailer work could get done, managed to shoot some cobia, and hogfish.  The cobia were insane.  HUGE schools, not spooked by anything.  

Now I want to try to land a tarpon!  Anyone know any places and want to go after them?  I can bring the banshee down if you know the water well enough that I won't be hitting random rocks since I haven't insured it yet.  I also want to do some fly fishing for reds.  None of my buddies fly fish, so its hard to be the only one who wants to especially when I am still new to it and not that great.  I always just try to stick with what I'm good at so they can catch reds and have a good time.  

I took some videos, but want to try to land a tarpon or catch some reds on fly to get more footage before making a video.  

post-217965-0-81060900-1431277635_thumb.jpgpost-217965-0-79951200-1431277646_thumb.jpgpost-217965-0-10836900-1431277654_thumb.jpgpost-217965-0-74829800-1431277660_thumb.jpg

I've caught 2 rat reds on fly so far, but have only even tried fly fishing maybe 3 times.

Those Reds were caught on zman paddlerz. And mission fishin 1/8th oz weedless jig heads that I absolutely love. Lost my last one and had to go to traditional weedless weighted hook :'(.

Don't know where you are located but the tarpon bite off the beach in anna maria has been hot. They have also been pushing pretty solid schools through north clearwater early morning..