Sign in to follow this  
jbdba01

Micro Powerpole - 2015

This review has been about 1 year in the making, but I felt strongly enough about the product to do a write up on a product that most kayakers should seriously consider. The Powerpole Micro Anchor.

Some background on myself and how I came about getting a Micro powerpole (PP).

I'm a pretty diehard fan of kayak fishing; I guess I've been doing it now for about 7 years or so.  However, I also own a 17' skiff - specifically a Sailfish 17' CC with a 90 Yamaha.  It had been relegated to Grouper and poon fishing but recently I added wade fishing out of it.  I use it as a means to get to those places the kayak takes to long too get to.

I'm also one of the cheaper people out there.  My skiff was bought used off ebay for $8500, my kayaks are all used and cost $200, $400, and $750.  The $750 one included a trolling motor.  I fish Wright MacGill rods with Sabalo reels and drink Yeungling beer - it's cheap and it tastes good.

So when PP came out with the Micro Anchor for $600 - just for the unit I was thinking, well I'll just stick to my cheap homemade fiberglass 1/2" manual one.  Who needs a fancy gizmo like that on the kayak. After all kayaking is all about the simplicity.