Sign in to follow this  
snwbird fisher

Help With Reds

Have just switched to a Kayak and I would really like to try and understand why I cannot see, let alone catch a Red. So am asking for advice/help, or maybe someone can tell me what I am doing wrong, or what exactly I have to do to find and catch Reds consistently.

Went to Bishops Harbor last Weds for the third time in two weeks, specifically to target Reds. Prior to I read everything posted on the forum including the advice from both Mike (Pickgrin) and Timmy674 on my last post about my trip to Palma Sola, as well as everything I could find about finding/catching Reds.

I studied both Google and Bing Maps of the area to get a feel for the areas I wanted to fish and then fished the Oyster Beds, Points and Glass/Sand Holes on the South West side of the Harbor from the launch to almost the Bay itself on the incoming tide. As suggested by Mike (Pickgrin) I fished depths of about 18 to 32 inches using a stick anchor to hold me in place as I moved along the edge of the mangroves. At each spot I anchored, I fan fished for 15 to 20 minutes before moving on. I alternated between a Spook Jr, an Unfair Lures suspending bait (1-5 Ft) and alternated between a couple of plastic's; Voodoo Shrimp, Lil john, and DOA Shrimp. The weather was sunny with cloudy periods, and the wind and swell was from the SSE and increased steadily after about 10AM.

And.......I didn't even see a Red lat alone catch one. The total outcome was one Ladyfish hooked on the way back to the launch site, and I couldn't even land that.

I realize it is hard for anyone to specifically tell me what I am doing wrong from a "forum post" but any advice about what I should change/do would be appreciated.

Thanks all.

Snwbird Fisher (George D.)

Hey George!

My name is Chris and I too own and fish from a Big Rig.  Don't you love that thing?!