I apologize for the lateness of this report for the weekend of 1/25/19. Between the time it took for me to thaw out and taking a 5-day vacation to New Orleans a few days later I just forgot.

The combination of the bait fishing being slow and Gag season closed I decided to forgo live bait this trip. The cold played into my decision as well. Even though the trip started out windy and cold I was still excited to get back out there and see if they were still biting as strong as they had two weeks prior. Trolling on the way out was poor as the water conditions were cloudy.  It started raining a few miles from shore which brought an end to the trolling effort. Due to extreme cold few attempted it between spots the following day.

We started around 1:00 AM in weather more fitting for “Deadliest Catch” than FL Mango fishing. This was especially true on the bow. Winds were at least 25 Knots and the temperature felt like 20. Fortunately, or unfortunately I have a lot of experience in these conditions so I managed a steady pick of Mango’s all night. There was also a scattering of large Vermillion and Yellowtail Snapper. Of course, the Gags continued to chew as I caught and released six nice ones over the course of the trip.

The day didn’t bring much relief from the cold because the wind steadily picked up. As the seas picked up so did the boat swing making it difficult to stay on the spots resulting in a very sporadic bite. On one early morning spot two Cobia were landed both in the 30 LB. range.