Does Louisiana Charge Out-of-State Gudies Too Much?
When Florida guides go to Louisiana to fish the bayous, how much should they charge?
We have talked a lot recently to Captain Scott Moore - one of the best guides in the state, and one who works closely with FWC. In his opinion our Florida guides should pay more for their licenses, and when they guide for out-of-staters, they should charge them. It is done in Alaska, and the two ways to increase revenues to our own law enforcment efforts would go far towards fixing a lot of issues here in our own state.
This article is about Louisiana, though, and how much they charge out-of-state guides to fish their waters. It's interesting to read whether you're a guide or not.
From the Times/Picayune:
Louisiana is charging out-of-state guides too much to fish in the Bayou State's productive waters, a Mississippi-based charter captain said Monday. Capt. Sonny Schindler, who runs Shore Thing Charters out of Bay St. Louis, said the price he and fellow out-of-state guides have to pay is exorbitant when compared to in-state guide license fees.
Louisiana in 2015 upped its non-resident guide license fee from $1,000 to $1,500, Schindler said, and that's placed an undue burden on out-of-state guides.
The whole story is here.